01278 264 405 or 0800 999 1286 (Freephone) info@healthwatchsomerset.co.uk

Digital access to health and care services

GP websites

The NHS England national GP patient survey 2021 shows that 58% of those who completed the survey in Somerset did not use GP online services to:

  • Book appointments
  • Order repeat prescriptions
  • Access their medical records
  • For consultations or appointments.

50% said they had not tried to use their GP’s website to look for information or to access to services.

What’s your experience of using GP websites?

We are investigating people’s experiences of using GP websites to access health and wellbeing information and support.

Digital access is rapidly becoming the main way to contact and use health and care services, but not everyone can use digital methods and some people choose not to. We want to understand more about the impact of digitalisation of services – the benefits and the barriers this can create. We want to identify where changes can be made to improve access for everyone.

How have you got involved?

During May, we gathered your feedback in a variety of ways.

Public survey

The survey closed 22 May 2022.

Community roadshow

We visited different places across Somerset to talk to people in the community.

Date 

Town

Times

Venue

Mon 9 May
Taunton
11am – 4pm
Fore Street
Tue 10 May
Minehead
11am – 4pm
The Beach Hotel (outside)
Wed 11 May
Bridgwater
11am – 4pm
Angel Place Shopping Centre
Thu 12 May
Burnham-On-Sea
11am – 4pm
The Esplanade
Fri 13 May
Wellington
11am – 4pm
Wellington Medical Centre (outside)
Sat 14 May
Shepton Mallet
9am – 1pm
Dobbies Garden Centre (outside)
Sun 15 May
Cheddar
10.30 – 2pm
Hillier Garden Centre (outside)
Mon 16 May
Chard
11am – 4pm
Chard Minor Injuries Unit (outside)
Tue 17 May
Yeovil
11am – 4pm
Asda (outside)
Wed 18 May
Wincanton
11am – 4pm
Balsam Centre (outside)
Thu 19 May
Street
9am – 1pm
Street Market
Fri 20 May
Frome
11am – 4pm
Boyle Cross, Market Place
Sat 21 May
Somerton
9am – 1pm
Brunel Shopping Precinct

Website reviews

Our volunteers are reviewing over 60 GP websites.

Focus groups

We have also held focus group discussions with communities which tend to be underrepresented, including care leavers and people with sight impairment.

We will now collate and analyse this data and produce a report of our findings later this summer.

For more information:

Email: info@healthwatchsomerset.co.uk

Freephone: 0800 999 1286